

FIRST REPORT

OF THE

LEGISLATIVE ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE

First Session
Sixtieth Legislative Assembly
of the
Province of New Brunswick

December 18, 2020

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Hon. Mr. Oliver, Chair

Ms. S. Wilson

Ms. Anderson-Masons, Q.C.

Hon. Mr. Savoie Hon. Ms. Green

Mr. Hogan Mr. Turner Mr. Melanson

Mr. G. Arseneault

Mr. Coon

Mr. Arseneau

Mr. Austin

Ms. Conroy

December 18, 2020

To the Honourable
The Legislative Assembly of
The Province of New Brunswick

Mr. Speaker:

Your Committee on Legislative Administration begs leave to submit this their First Report.

On October 26, 2020, Mr. Donald J. Forestell informed the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of his decision to retire as Clerk of the Legislative Assembly effective November 13, 2020.

Mr. Forestell began his career at the Legislative Assembly in 1993 as Clerk Assistant. He was appointed Clerk of the Legislative Assembly by resolution of the House on June 7, 2012.

The Committee wishes to express its sincere appreciation to the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, Mr. Forestell, for his professionalism, dedication, and exemplary service to the Legislative Assembly and the Province.

The Clerk of the Legislative Assembly is the chief permanent officer of the Legislature and the principal authority on the laws, practices and privileges of Parliament. The Clerk's responsibilities include advising the Speaker and Members on questions of parliamentary law, procedure, and interpretation of the rules and practices of the House. The Clerk is also responsible for the overall administration of the Legislative Assembly and is Secretary of the Legislative Administration Committee. The Clerk serves all Members equally, regardless of party affiliation, and must act with impartiality and discretion.

At a meeting held December 17, 2020, the Committee agreed that Shayne Davies, Acting Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, had the necessary qualifications and 20 years of experience at the Table to serve as the next Clerk of the House.

Your Committee therefore recommends to the House that Shayne Davies be appointed Clerk of the Legislative Assembly effective December 18, 2020.

And your Committee asks leave to make a further report.

Andrea Anderson-Mason, Q.C. Deputy Speaker, and Member of the Legislative Administration Committee